Back in 1998 the state of Washington voted in favor of allowing the compassionate use of medical marijuana by qualified patients. Medical marijuana patients in Washington are allowed to possess, use and cultivate their own medication. Any person diagnosed with one of the following conditions qualifies for a medical marijuana prescription:
Note: The Washington Board of Health may allow individuals to obtain a medical marijuana card for conditions not listed above.
Washington's medical marijuana program allows patients and their primary caregivers to possess up to 24 ounces of marijuana and grow a maximum of 15 plants. The Department of Health may permit certain individuals to grow/possess more than those amounts, on an as-needed basis. A caregiver must be at least 18 years of age and are only allowed to grow marijuana for one patient at a time. Washington law states that the caregiver is prohibited from consuming any of the cannabis that he/she grows for patients.
For more information pertaining to the medical marijuana program in Washington, please contact the following agency at:
Washington, along with Colorado, became one of the first states to approve the recreational use of marijuana by adults. In the Evergreen State individuals are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana for personal use, with no repercussions. They must ingest the weed in private, just like alcohol. Public display of either ingesting the marijuana or it just being visible will result in a civil penalty and a $100 fine. Possession of 1 ounce to 40 grams is a misdemeanor that can result in anywhere from 24 hours in jail to 90 days and a $1,000 fine. Over 40 grams is a felony that holds a maximum of 5 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Sale or distribution of any amount of marijuana in Washington is an automatic felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. Sale of any amount to a minor who is at least 3 years younger than the seller is also a felony with up to 10 years in prison and also with a $10,000 fine.
Cultivation of any amount will result in a felony offense with up to 5 years behind bars and a $10,000 fine. Possession of less than 40 grams of hash or concentrates is a misdemeanor charge that is punishable by a maximum of 1 day in jail and a $250 fine. Possession of 40 grams or more of hash or concentrates, however, is a felony offense that can result in 5 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. Manufacture of, sale, delivery, or possession with intent to distribute hash or concentrates is a felony with up to 5 years in prison and $10,000 in fines to pay.
I am all for legalizing it just like alcohol.