New Mexico and its governor at the time, Bill Richardson, allowed the use of medical marijuana to treat certain ailments, beginning in 2007. The allows the use of state-sanctioned medical marijuana cultivation centers that are then used to distribute medicine to patients in need. Patients who are diagnosed with the following conditions may receive treatment in the form of medical marijuana:
Note: The New Mexico Department of Health may allow the use of medical cannabis by certain individuals who have a condition not listed above.
New Mexico medical marijuana patients and their caregivers are permitted to possess up to 6 ounces of marijuana and a total of 16 cannabis plants being cultivated. Of those 16 plants only 4 may be mature and 12 must be in the vegetative period. New Mexico allows commercial growers who are registered with the state to cultivate up to 150 cannabis plants, to be distributed to dispensaries. For additional information on medical marijuana in New Mexico, visit the following website:
New Mexico has relatively easy-going medical marijuana laws and the same can be said about their laws surrounding recreational use. For first-time offenders found in possession of 1 ounce or less of marijuana, they will face a misdemeanor with a maximum of 15 days in jail and a $100 fine. A second offense of 1 ounce or less is another misdemeanor with up to a year in jail and a $1,000 fine. 1 to 8 ounces is a misdemeanor offense, punishable by a maximum of a year in jail and a $1,000 fine. Any amount greater than 8 ounces is a felony that can result in up to a year-and-a-half incarceration and $5,000 in fines.
A first-time offender caught selling less than 100 pounds will face a felony with a maximum of 1.5 years in jail and a $5,000 fine. A second-time offender will receive another felony with up to 3 years in prison and a $5,000 fine. A first-time offender caught selling more than 100 pounds will also get a felony with up to 3 years and a $5,000 fine. However, a second-time offender caught selling more than 100 pounds will face up to 9 years incarceration and $10,000 in fines. A first-time offender caught selling any amount to a minor will face a felony with 3 years time and a $5,000 fine. Second offense is 9 years and $10,000. Any person caught selling any amount of cannabis within a designated drug-free school zone will face felony charges, 18 years in prison and $15,000 in fines to pay.
New Mexico isn't so easy-going about cultivating, however. First-time offenders for growing any amount of plants face a felony with up to 9 years incarceration and a $10,000 fine. A second offense will result in an additional felony with up to 18 years prison time and a $15,000 fine.