New Jersey is the only state where a vote was not necessary to instill medical marijuana in the state. Instead a group of legislators drafted New Jersey Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act and the governor signed it into law. This act, which took effect in October of 2010, allowed the compassionate use of medical marijuana. New Jersey authorizes the use of medical marijuana to treat the following conditions:
Note: If a doctor determines that a patient is terminally ill and will pass away within one year, that patient is automatically eligible for medical marijuana. Furthermore, any patient that a doctor determines needs medical marijuana to treat an ailment not listed above, may do so at his or her discretion.
New Jersey state law permits a maximum of 6 medical marijuana dispensaries throughout the state. It allows patients the right to possess up to 2 ounces of marijuana, as well as ingest that marijuana. Patients are not, however, permitted to cultivate their own medicine, which has been a constant complaint of many patients, since the induction of MMJ in 2010. The one exception to cultivation not done by a dispensary is that the law allows individuals who are 18 years of age and older with a clean drug background to be designated as a primary caregiver for a patient. This person must pay a $200 fee and pass a background check before they are permitted to begin growing medical cannabis.
For any question, comments or concerns about the medical marijuana program in New Jersey, individuals are encouraged to contact one of the following agencies:
For having the nickname of the Garden State, New Jersey isn't very friendly towards recreational cannabis gardens or what is produced by them. Simple possession of 50 grams or less results in charges of disorderly person, with a maximum of 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. Possessing over 50 grams is a felony that can result in up to 1.5 years incarceration and $25,000 in fines to pay. Possession within 1,000 of a school automatically add 100 hours of community service to the punishment, as well as additional fines. No jail time is awarded.
Selling or distributing less than 1 ounce of marijuana is a felony offense in New Jersey with a maximum sentence of 1.5 years and a $25,000 fine. Anywhere from 1 ounce to 5 pounds is also a felony that has a mandatory minimum sentence of 3 years in prison and a maximum of 5 years. That means for getting caught selling 29 grams, a person will automatically face 3 years in prison. 5 pounds to 25 pounds lands a person in jail for a minimum of 5 years and a maximum of 10. The fine can be as much as $150,000. More than 25 pounds is a minimum of 10 years and maximum of 20 years in prison. The fine for this can be up to $300,000.
Cultivating anywhere from 1 ounce to 5 pounds or less than 10 plants is a felony that is chargeable with a minimum of 3 years and maximum of 5 spent in prison, coupled with a $25,000 fine. Persons caught growing 5 to 25 pounds or 10 to 49 plants also face felony charges with 5 to 10 years spent behind bars. Growing more than 25 pounds or having 50 or more plants is going to result in 10 to 20 years in prison and up to $300,000 in fines.