Medical Marijuana Law  Maine


Maine


Maine Laws

MEDICAL LAWS:

Surprisingly Maine had one of the highest percentages of votes in favor of medical marijuana of any state that has yet passed such a law. In 1999 61% of Maine voters approved the use of medical cannabis to treat certain medical conditions. Some of the conditions for which an individual may be approved for MMJ are:

  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Chemotherapy (for treating severe nausea)
  • Crohn's Disease
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Legalities:

    In Maine medical marijuana patients and caregivers are permitted to possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana buds. One of the nice things about Maine is that they do not count marijuana that is drying or curing against the 2.5 ounces. Patients and caregivers are permitted to have up to 6 mature plants. No limits are set as to how many plants can be in the vegetative state. The Pine Tree State also allows medical marijuana patients from outside states to use and possess their medicine for up to 30 days after entering Maine. They are not, however, permitted to obtain cannabis in Maine. Essentially this means that they have to illegally transport their medicine across state lines, since the only state bordering Maine is New Hampshire, and medical marijuana is not yet permitted there. Obviously there are still some kinks to be worked out in Maine's legislation.

    RECREATIONAL LAWS:

    Another surprise about Maine is that they are very lax about their recreational penalties. So lax, in fact, that they have decriminalized possession even more than California has. In Maine if a person is caught with up to 2.5 ounces of bud they face a civil violation, no jail time and a $600 fine. 2.5 to 8 ounces of marijuana results in a misdemeanor charge with 6 months in jail and $1,000 in fines. 8 ounces to 1 pound is also a misdemeanor, however it holds a sentence of up to one year in jail and a $2,000 fine. 1 pound to 20 pounds is a felony, that can land a person in prison for 5 years and with $5,000 in fines to pay. Anything above 20 pounds will result in up to 10 years in prison and $20,000 in fines.

    Sale of any amount less than one pound is a misdemeanor offense that holds a person in jail for up to a year. Sale of 1 to 20 pounds is a felony with 5 years behind bars. Selling or distributing over 20 pounds results in 10 years in prison.

    Persons who are caught cultivating 5 plants or less will face misdemeanor charges and 6 months jail time. 5 to 99 plants is also a misdemeanor but can land a person in jail for 5 years. 100 plants to 499 plants is finally a felony offense that is punishable by 5 years in prison. Any (ridiculous) amount of plants that is 500 or more is a felony with up to 10 years behind bars.

    When compared to other states, Maine is actually one of the more 420-friendly states when it comes to recreational use.


    Buy Cannabis Seeds



    Gravitar
    Guest | Jul 11, 2013

    Google HEMP THC CANCER CURE PATENT = Oct 7, 2003 or? US .gov Patented

    0 stars0 stars0 stars0 stars0 stars

    Gravitar
    Guest | Jun 13, 2013

    over ediczec

    0 stars0 stars0 stars0 stars0 stars

    Gravitar
    Guest | Oct 7, 2011

    oh

    0 stars0 stars0 stars0 stars0 stars

    Gravitar
    DrewbieDoobie | Jun 26, 2011

    So all you other medical heads like myself know...I've been kicking around the idea of starting a medical marijuana cultivators club...basicly a club to share information and strains and grow tips...well if another Mainers are interested give me a ring

    0 stars0 stars0 stars0 stars0 stars

    Gravitar
    DrewbieDoobie | Jun 26, 2011

    So all you other medical heads like myself know...I've been kicking around the idea of starting a medical marijuana cultivators club...basicly a club to share information and strains and grow tips...well if another Mainers are interested give me a ring

    0 stars0 stars0 stars0 stars0 stars

    Gravitar
    lindzzz | May 15, 2011

    I am glad that they increased the limit but I think they need to have a more realistic limit. Chances are that if you harvest three plants you will yield more than 2 1/2 ounces.

    0 stars0 stars0 stars0 stars0 stars

    Please login to leave a review.