In 1998 the state of Alaska, along with several other states, enacted laws that would allow the compassionate use of medical marijuana, by patients with severely debilitating and chronic ailments. The state of Alaska issues medical marijuana picture I.D. cards to each patient. These patients were then allowed to cultivate, possess and partake in the use of cannabis for the following conditions:
Note: The Alaska Department of Health and Social Services may approve other ailments not on the list
Alaska state law rules that no medical marijuana patient or medical marijuana caregiver may possess any marijuana that exceeds 1 ounce. Additionally these patients or caregivers are limited to growing only 6 plants, of which only 3 are permitted to be in the flower cycle. For individuals seeking to become a caregiver for other medical marijuana patients state law dictates that they be at least 21-years-old and cannot have any felony offenses on their record which are drug or substance related. This caregiver may receive one of two titles: primary caregiver or alternate caregiver. The patient much decide which to list them as.
For more information or any questions pertaining to medical marijuana laws in Alaska, individuals are encouraged to contact one of the following:
In Alaska a person can get into a bit of trouble if they do not possess a medical marijuana card and are found with cannabis on them. The following data is for personal use only. Less than 1 ounce of usable marijuana is classified as a misdemeanor with a maximum of 90 days in jail and a fine of $2,000. 1 to 4 ounces is also a misdemeanor, however holds a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a fine of $1,000. You don't want to get caught with over 4 ounces, as it results in a felony offense with the possibility of 5 years in prison and a monstrous fine of $50,000. Any person caught with any amount of marijuana on their person may be slapped with 5 years imprisonment and a $50,000 fine.
Moving up from personal use, individuals who are charged with intent to distribute less than 1 ounce of marijuana may receive misdemeanor charges and up to a year in jail, with a $10,000 fine. For over 1 ounce that person can receive a felony with up to 5 years imprisonment and a $50,000 fine.
Sale/Delivery holds much steeper charges. Sale/delivery of less than one ounce is a misdemeanor with the possibility of a year in jail and a $10,000 fine. 1 ounce or greater can result in felony charges, 5 years in prison and a $1,000 fine. If any person sells any amount of marijuana to someone under the age of 19 and at least three years younger than themselves, that person can receive a felony with up to 10 years in prison and a fine of $100,000.
The illegal cultivation of cannabis in Alaska will result in a felony with 5 years and a $1,000 fine for over one ounce of marijuana cultivated. No laws state anything about numbers of plants. Only amount of marijuana produced at the time of discovery.
Hash/Concentrates are not something Alaskans want to get caught with either. Possession of 3 grams or less can result in up to a year in jail, misdemeanor charges and a $10,000 fine. However, greater than 3 grams can result in felony charges, 2 years in prison and charges of $50,000. Delivery and manufacture or intent to distribute is also a felony with 1 to 3 years incarceration and a $100,000 fine.
Dont forget that the card expires in one year . . .
@PhilosopherOG | Mar 13, 2011 Very interesting about Alaska and all of the other states
The law gets better. To be a medical marijuana patient by Alaska State Law You are penalized. Patients (or their primary caregivers) may legally possess no more than one ounce of usable marijuana, and may cultivate no more than six marijuana plants,
Come on people the limits are way too small, they can not grow outside and what else is there to do but grow inside. And only 3 plants and 1 ounce. What if they want to make edibles, come on it needs to be redone.
One ounce processed from three plants? Whoever made that guideline has obviously never grown cannabis plants.
In alaska they should be allowed to grow mass amounts, since there is probably no chance of growing outdoor. Three is not enough.
Very interesting about Alaska and all of the other states
Very interesting about Alaska and all the other states. I continue to find this website extremely informative and entertaining. I had no idea how many states were actually hadling themselves in a progressive way by taking charge of their rights. From t
Please login to leave a review.