• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 R2Grow

R2Grow

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 11 July 2011 - 01:23 AM

I'm new to growing and I'm curious as to how many times a day or week young plants about 7 no more than 10 inches in height, need to be watered. A few of the leaves are turning yellow on one stem but the rest of leaves the plant is green. Is this normal? I don't think I need to add nutrients to their water yet.

Attached Files

#2 CannaConnoisseur

CannaConnoisseur

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 609 posts
  • LocationCentral Oregon

Posted 11 July 2011 - 01:13 PM

It depends on your lights, heat, temps, etc as to how often to water, but I typically water mine every 2 to 3 days. A good way to tell is to stick your finger into the soil. If it's completely dry on the top inch or two of the soil then it's time to water. As to how much water, give enough so that some but not a lot of water comes out the bottom. For a 1 gallon pot, I give 2.5 cups of water and for a 3 gallon pot I give 6 cups to a 1/2 gallon and for a 5 gallon I give a 1/2 gallon. Also, if they are 10" in height, you can start giving them nutes, just make sure to start at about 1/4 the recommended strength on the bottle and slowly work your way up so you don't give your ladies nute burn. Are they clones? If they're clones then you definitely want to start giving them nutrients at that height because they've been starving for a while. If they're from seed then now is about the time to start nutes, so either way I'd start them. Be sure to monitor your pH too, so you don't get lockout and have to flush. To answer your question, I sometimes notice my very bottom leaf from a clone will start to yellow, like yours did, but not necessarily that much. You'd probably be safe to pull that leaf in a day or two if it continues to die.